The National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC) is an organisation that assesses and accredits higher education Institutions (HEIs) in India. It is an autonomous body funded by University Grants Commission of Government of India headquartered in Bangalore.

NAAC was established in 1994 in response to recommendations of National Policy in Education (1986). This policy was to “address the issues of deterioration in quality of education”, and the Plan of Action (POA-1992) laid out strategic plans for the policies including the establishment of an independent national accreditation body. Consequently, the NAAC was established in 1994 with its headquarters at Bengaluru.


Institutions wishing to be accredited are graded:

Range of institutional CGPA Letter Grade Performance Descriptor
3.01-4.00 A Very Good (Accredited)
2.01-3.00 B Good (Accredited)
1.51-2.00 C Satisfactory (Accredited)
≤ 1.50 D Unsatisfactory (Not Accredited)


The seven criteria based on which the grading is done are:

  1. Curricular Aspect
  2. Teaching- Learning & Evaluation
  3. Research, Consultancy & Extension
  4. Infrastructure & Learning Resources
  5. Governance, Leadership & Management
  6. Innovation & Best Practices
  7. Student Support & Progression